Grove HR's Employee Groups feature helps you create various employee groups for daily operations, apply specific work schedule for specific employee group, flexibly allocate allowance and/or one-off to a certain employee group.

Existing groups in the Checklists module will also be migrated to Company Settings > Employee Groups tab.


With the current version, Admin and authorize person can create, manage Employee Groups and assign Onboarding/Offboarding tasks to Employee Groups. In future releases, Employee Group will connect with other modules and features like News, Work Schedule, Attendance, Time Off etc.


Create an Employee Group

Before starting, make sure you have access to Company Settings. If not, please contact your Admin to request permissions.

  1. Go to Company Setting by clicking on the ⚙️icon > Employee Groups

  2. Click on + New Group

  3. Enter a unique name and a description for easy finding > click Create

  4. Select how employees can be added to the group:

    1. Match all of the criteria: only employees who meet selected conditions will be added to the group

    2. Specific employees: only selected employees will be added

  5. Preview if necessary

  6. Click Save and Confirm action

💡Tips: Select "Automatically update employees that match these criteria, except for Resigned employees" to synchronize the list when employees join, resign or their properties was changed.

Edit an Employee Group

  1. Go to Company Setting by clicking on the ⚙️icon > Employee Groups

  2. Find the Employee Group that you want to edit and click on More (or the ⋮ icon)

  3. Select Edit and adjust only need necessary fields

  4. Click on Save to apply changes

Deactivate an Employee Group

A deactivated Employee Group will be hidden from other modules, but you can still view them in Employee Groups setting.

  1. Go to Company Setting by clicking on the ⚙️icon > Employee Groups

  2. Find the Employee Group that you want to deactivate

  3. Click on the toggle button to turn off the active mode

Note: Employee groups associate with other modules or features cannot be deactivated. Make sure to unlink them in advance or you will receive this error message:

Delete an Employee Group

  1. Go to Company Setting by clicking on the ⚙️icon > Employee Groups

  2. Find the Employee Group that you want to delete and click on More (or the ⋮ icon)

  3. Select Delete Group

  4. Click Delete again to confirm action

📌 Note:

  • Employee Groups are visible to all users with Settings permissions

  • Resigned employees cannot be added to groups

  • When an employee resigns, system will automatically remove them from all groups

  • Only active groups can be automatically updated

  • When "Automatically add or remove employees that match these criteria, except for Resigned employees." is uncheck, system will not update when employees properties was changed

Did this answer your question?